wirelezz blog

waves're in the air everywhere I look around…

J2ME UDP VoIP Traffic Simulator

with one comment

As a result of looking for new ways for testing VoIP traffic in the Testbed I built for my thesis, I coded a very simple yet useful J2ME App. As I’ve stated in a previous post, I enjoy programming, specially in Java.

The App sends a default number of 5000 UDP packets @64kbps. This number can be changed within the application.

Each packet contains a sequence number in the data portion. The reason I included such information is because I was dealing duplicated packets in a WMN testbed (SMesh, a great approach to solving handoff issues in real time communication in wireless mesh networks).

I thought it would be a good idea to share it. If you also like programming, you could also write a small script to sniff the packets and determine latency, packet loss (thanks to the sequence numbers found in the data protion of the packet) and -maybe- duplicated packets.

It worked pretty good on my NokiaE71! Your phone must support J2ME/Java. If you find any bug or you have any comments about the App, please let me know! I hope you find it useful.


PacketSender V1.0

To install it, you can first download the .jar file in your PC and then send it to your phone via bluetooth and then open the file in your phone, or try downloading the file via OTA (from the link above).

Written by Wirelezz

July 9, 2010 at 11:00 am

Posted in Tools

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] As a result of looking for new ways for testing VoIP traffic in the Testbed I built for my thesis, I coded a very simple yet useful J2ME App. As I’ve stated in a previous post, I enjoy programming, specially in Java. …Continue Reading […]


Leave a Reply

