wirelezz blog

waves're in the air everywhere I look around…

Meraki WiFi Stumbler

with 2 comments

During the time I was working on my thesis, I had to do a quick Site Survey in order to prepare the testbed for my VoWLAN call tests. So I started looking for the software that did the “site survey” magic.

This kind of software (as you might already know) is called Stumbler. What a Stumbler basically does is taking a look at the wireless medium and search for active Access Points, as well as their SSIDs, the signal received, etc.

There are plenty of tools that do the job. For instance, there’s NetStumbler, which is a great piece of software. However, after reading a @meraki tweet, I tried it and I have to say: it’s very cool.

Here’s the link to the Meraki Stumbler site

First of all, you don’t need to install it: it’s web-based, so it saves you the work of looking for the right installer for your OS and, of course, skip the installation requirements.

It has a friendly interface. Clean and easy to use and understand.

It shows you a graph of the channels versus the number of clients that are using each channel. Which is pretty useful to start doing the site survey. Why would I care that much about looking for a level of interference of channel 1 if I can see that there are 10 APs using it and that the channel 11 is clean?

It’s Java-based: I’m sorry, I really love Java. You might not need to install it (it’s not a installing requirement), but there’s a prerequisite: you need the JRE to use the Stumbler.

Here’s a video showing how it works. Pretty simple.

I’m aware that this may not be as complete as Netstumbler is, but I found Meraki Stumbler a very minimalistic yet clean approach for a quick “hey what’s going on around here?” survey.

What’s your favorite site survey software? Leave a comment!

Written by Wirelezz

June 26, 2010 at 12:05 am

Posted in Tools

Tagged with , , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your post about the Meraki Wifi Stumblr has been very helpful. Thank you.

    vicmadz

    July 12, 2011 at 9:13 pm

  2. Thank you for your comment. It is indeed helpful🙂

    Wirelezz

    July 17, 2011 at 11:28 pm


Leave a Reply

